Familiarity Begets Boredom, or Does it Really?

 

I have always been an individual that becomes bored with anything I do, or sometimes even people I know. It is a curse in a way although it opens me up to new and exciting experiences. I move onto the next creative pursuit hoping for inspiration into new pursuits. Photography has always been a constant my entire life, just not the subjects being photographed. That has changed over time with newer hobbies and interests like birding.

Is it when we see something over and over it becomes commonplace? Maybe, but…

the creative might just say, see it in a different way. That works, but it is like a band-aide for a short time to a creative. There are always new things to discover.

 

This post has common birds from my area to show that they are not common everywhere to all individuals. What might be boring to us here like a robin, might be exciting and pretty to people in far off places.

Tree-Swallow

We have pretty cardinals that I see all the time, but our resident cardinals are searched each day on my other blog, showing they are not common worldwide. They don’t even exist worldwide. A penguin might be exciting for me to see, but not so much to those living in the Southern Hemisphere.

Bluebird

This leads to an even more important and profound observation. The one about nature. Nature is found everywhere, you just have to look for it. Is an oak in the city less of a tree than one found in a forest? How about squirrels? One might even consider those in the city more natural. So is nature in the city boring? Not at all, but it is different.

American-Robin

Even native sumac grows right behind my fence in the city. Sounds a bit odd differentiating “natures”, but nature as a whole is much different when not surrounded by buildings and people. The oak is different in a grander sense. So are the squirrels. What you learn is more authentic and visually exciting when in the habitats of the animals rather than the habitat of humans.

 

I purposefully used images of different, less colorful birds on the same plant. It is a bit boring having the same context. Slightly less interesting with less color than a red cardinal, bright blue jay or multicolored warbler. Of course, less dramatic than an eagle or other raptor. But honestly the subject itself – the common birds – are not boring. I just bet they don’t think of themselves in that way either.

This entry was posted in Birds, Nature, Photography, Photos, Travel, wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Familiarity Begets Boredom, or Does it Really?

  1. neihtn2012 says:

    These are certainly not boring, even if we are familiar with the birds.

  2. Sue says:

    Lovely photos and a thought provoking post Donna. I agree that it’s all too easy to take our common wildlife for granted. This is why I enjoy blogging about my animal visitors, it helps to ground me and get back to appreciating the more mundane right in front of me by seeing things in a different way.

  3. Absolutely not boring… au contraire! Wonderful pictures Donna! 🙂 Have a great weekend, my friend! 🙂

  4. ALESIA says:

    Fun post. You know I luv birds of any kind! Boring has never in my vocabulary . I know many very very smart people that get bored easily and I always wonder about it. Not about them! Me! Why don’t I get bored! Haha. You take care. A

  5. aussiebirder says:

    Interesting enough Donna, I was thinking the same thing last week when I walked through what appeared to be a birdless forest, as the changing seasons at this time of year often gave us a couple of weeks of less birds. I realised that the faithful perennial birds were the only ones there to greet me.and be my subject, and they were just as beautiful, but not so rare as the ones I sought. Well expressed Donna!

  6. Kathy says:

    I am so grateful you take the time to capture these lovely creatures and share them with us!

  7. Donna Lee says:

    Beautiful photos, Donna. I would love to know your settings and what lens you used for the photos. Love the blurred backgrounds. I live on Long Island (NY) and there are lots of gorgeous birds here. What I would love to see is a Cedar Waxwing – I don’t know if they make their way around these parts, but they sure are gorgeous birds.

Your comment is appreciated.