Angry Red-tailed Hawk

 

Angry-Hawk

Want to see more angry birds? Click the gallery. The morning had a few Red-tailed Hawks in a very grouchy mood. They were flying tree to tree. I was waiting to see if they would go claw to claw, but no such luck.

The only disadvantage I had was using the 300mm, not the 400mm. The photos came out not so bad considering I did not have the distance I usually have. I have so many photos and may put some on Garden Walk Garden Talk because these hawks just ignored me and were so busy yelling at each other and doing flybys. Great entertainment. You must click the gallery to see these photos larger. The expressions are really imposing.

This entry was posted in Birds, Nature, Raptors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Angry Red-tailed Hawk

  1. WOW – Amazing Captures – So COOL!!!

  2. Pat says:

    Fantastic shots!

  3. My Heartsong says:

    I clicked on “Hawk Calling” right in my email box which took me to the attachment where I said something like that you got the expression, the gesture of the feathers frozen in motion and the glint in the eye. Great series of behavioural shots.

    • donna213 says:

      Oh, I was wondering. I just started adding the galleries to GWGT because of photo theft. I found not one of the gallery images were stolen because they cannot be dragged to the desktop. I lose over 100 per day and had to curb this constant loss of photos. Some days it is almost 500. Plus I can post more images and it seems like less.

  4. Whoa! I’m glad they weren’t aiming for you!

  5. avian101 says:

    Excellent captures! 🙂

  6. Good to hear they ignored you. They do look angry! 🙂

  7. A.M.B. says:

    Wow! Yes, they are very grouchy! Great pictures. I’ve seen a few red-tailed hawks in my yard, but I’ve never seen them like that.

    • donna213 says:

      I never saw them so territorial either. I must have 100 photos, all in various modes of flight. I think I was the one keeping them from all out battle. The one hawk has holes in its wing feathers. It probably happened before I was on this scene.

  8. fodrambler says:

    Fantastic pictures

  9. Nick Hunter says:

    This action sequence is terrific. My favorite is the smallish, distant shot where the top of the spread tail shows – great body language and color. It looks pretty sharp – could it be cropped a little more?

    • donna213 says:

      I could have cropped that image in much more, but that hawk in that image was the furtherest one away from me. They were circling my position at opposite sides of the circle. The hawk in the tree was much closer to me, I was near the base of its tree.

  10. Jet Eliot says:

    Wow, these are fantastic photos, Donna. You really captured the anger!

  11. bittster says:

    Great shots! I would back away quickly if that were coming at me 🙂

    • donna213 says:

      I was a little concerned, but my truck door was opened for my quick dive inside. I know talons are sharp, not to mention that flesh ripping beak.

  12. Lyle Krahn says:

    Nothing like a little anger to make a hawk look a lot better. As you might imagine, I love these shots. You will have to give me tips on how got them so upset at each other!!

    • donna213 says:

      Thanks Lyle. I wish I knew what was going on. Today on Garden Walk Garden Talk, I asked an experienced birder what he thought. This went on for two days so it really got my curiosity tickled.

  13. Incredible images…you can see how tense they were in their muscles.

Your comment is appreciated.